Medical Marijuana 2020


What is Medical Marijuana 2020?


In order to make medical marijuana available to patients who are suffering from pain and other chronic conditions, Mississippi voters must approve an amendment to the state constitution. This amendment will be on the 2020 general election ballot and, if approved, would create a safe and legal process for patients to obtain medical marijuana from licensed and regulated treatment centers. 

The ability of those persons to obtain medical marijuana is built around an examination by a Mississippi physician, a diagnosis of a debilitating medical condition, and a certification by the physician that medical marijuana may be used. Medical marijuana is then obtained from a licensed and regulated treatment center that is both limited by amount and by time period. The initiative creates the position of caregivers who can assist disabled or home-bound patients. 

The Mississippi Department of Health is charged with regulating and enforcing the provisions of the initiative. A total of 31 states, including Arkansas, Louisiana, and Florida, allow for the use of medical marijuana. All states require a physician examination and certification before a person can obtain medical marijuana. All states allow for a caregiver. Every state regulates the businesses that grow, produce, transport, and dispense medical marijuana, and every state imposes some limit on the purchase, possession, or distribution of medical marijuana.

Click here for more information about how the process would work in Mississippi.


Join the Campaign

The proposed initiative will be on the general election ballot in November 2020 following the collection of more than 100,000 signatures. If you would like information on how you can sign the petition to make medical marijuana available to qualifying patients who have debilitating medical conditions, click below to fill out our contact form.

contact form ▸

Steering Committee


support for medical marijuana 2020

Below is a list of medical professionals, law enforcement officials, leaders in the faith community, veterans and other prominent professionals who believe medical marijuana would be a beneficial treatment option to qualifying patients in Mississippi who have debilitating medical conditions. 

1. Debra Allen, MSN, RN – President, Mississippi Nurses Association
2. Haley Arndt – Former Prosecutor
3. Todd Barrett, R. Ph. – Past President, Mississippi Board of Pharmacy
4. Rep. Chris Bell – Mississippi Legislature
5. Rep. Joel Bomgar – Mississippi Legislature
6. SSG Nathan Boyd – Veteran, Operation Iraqi Freedom
7. Matthew Burrow – Vice President, America’s Liberty PAC
8. Grant Callen – Founder & President, Empower Mississippi
9. Kayla Carr, MSN, RN, FNP-C – Assistant Professor of Nursing
10. Juan Cloy – Former Assistant Police Chief, Police Union President, FBI Task Force Agent, Master Law Enforcement Instructor, and SWAT Team Leader
11. D.A. Scott Colom – District Attorney, 16th Judicial District, Mississippi
12. BJ Cougle, PharmD – Owner, BJ’s Family Pharmacy
13. Rep. Dana Criswell – Mississippi Legislature
14. Dr. Kenneth I. Cronin, M.D. – Diplomate, American Board of Addiction Medicine
15. Ronnie Crudup Jr. – Executive Director, New Horizon Ministries, Inc.
16. Mayor Shea Dobson – City of Ocean Springs
17. Christy Dunaway – Former Executive Director, LIFE of Mississippi, Disability Rights Advocacy
18. Ashley Durval – Harper Grace’s Mom and Healthcare Activist
19. Dr. Timothy D. Estes, M.D., CMD – Certified Medical Director, Post-Acute and Long-Term Care
20. Spence Flatgard – Attorney
21. Dr. Kate Fouquier, CNM, PhD, FACNM – Associate Professor of Nursing
22. Leigh Gault, BSN, RN – Cardiology Nurse
23. Bishop Duncan Gray – Retired Episcopal Bishop of Mississippi
24. Dr. James Griffin, M.D. – Chief Medical Officer, Southeast Mississippi Rural Health Initiative
25. Lt. Col. (Ret.) David Hamby, MSN, APRN, FNP-BC, AG/ACNP-BC – Veteran, Operation Enduring Freedom (OEF), Operation Iraqi Freedom (OIF)
26. Dr. Claude Harbarger, M.D. – Assistant Professor of Otolaryngology (ENT), UMMC
27. Dr. Phyllis Hollenbeck, M.D., FAAFP – Author & Primary Care Physician
28. Rep. Abe Hudson – Mississippi Legislature
29. Kevin Jones – President, Parkinson’s Disease Association, Mississippi Chapter
30. Rep. Kabir Karriem – Mississippi Legislature
31. Dr. Sharon T. LaRose, M.D. – Board Certified Psychiatrist
32. Francis Lee – President & CEO, Tower Loan; Member, Mississippi Republican Party Executive Committee
33. Dr. Lishia Lee, PhD, RN-BC – Associate Professor of Nursing
34. Dr. Philip Levin, M.D., FACEP – President, Mississippi Chapter of the American College of Emergency Physicians
35. Tim Mask - President, MWB Creative
36. Dr. Barry McCay, M.D. – Diagnostic Radiologist
37. Sarah McGraw, RN, MSN – Pediatric/Family Nurse Practitioner
38. Dr. Jule P. Miller III, M.D. – Board Certified Child and Adolescent Psychiatrist
39. James Moore – Former Alderman & Reserve Police Officer – Petal, MS
40. Tim Moore – President & CEO, Mississippi Hospital Association
41. Dr. Jack Moriarity, M.D. – Neurosurgeon
42. Cliff Osbon, R. Ph. – Past President, Mississippi Pharmacists Association
43. Dr. Katherine Patterson, M.D., FAAFP – Fellow of the American Academy of Family Physicians
44. Michael Preston, LPC, LMFT – Owner, Jackson Family Counseling
45. Jon Pritchett – President & CEO, Mississippi Center for Public Policy
46. Rev. Dr. CJ Rhodes – President, Clergy for Prison Reform
47. Rep. Rob Roberson – Mississippi Legislature
48. Lissa Ruhl, RN, CCM – Rehabilitation Nurse
49. Dr. Michael L. Sanders, M.D, CPE – Primary Care Physician, Face Value Health DPC, PLLC
50. Paula Shamsie – Executive Director, ALS Association, Mississippi Chapter
51. Rep. Jeff Smith – Mississippi Legislature
52. Councilman De'Keither Stamps – Councilman, City of Jackson; Veteran, Operation Iraqi Freedom (OIF)
53. Rev. Seth Still, Lead Planting Pastor, Crosstown Fellowship Church, PCA – Cleveland, MS
54. Jeanne J. Tate – Chairperson, Mississippi Sickle Cell Foundation
55. Kari Thomas – Former Police Officer
56. Marilyn Tinnin – Founder, Mississippi Christian Living
57. Tres Townsend – Executive Director, Epilepsy Foundation of Mississippi
58. Dr. Jack Walters, M.D. – Board Certified Physician, Anesthesiology/Pain Management
59. Dr. Eric Warren, M.D. – Board Certified Psychiatrist
60. Jimmy Williams – Retired Police Officer – Oxford, MS
61. Kelly Williams, J.D., C.W.L.S. – Attorney


Meet the Team

Image 2.jpg